I Think I Will Not Bleed Forever — A Lazy Workout That Works!

Jane Augustine
5 min readAug 5, 2024

--

Photo by mr lee on Unsplash

Many believe it’s ridiculous to write certain things about yourself and put them out for the public to consume or bear witness to. Although this may be right in some aspects, especially for privacy’s sake, I believe in sharing helpful tips I’ve learned in life; hence this article.

A lazy workout that works?

Yes, I’ve discovered a cardiovascular exercise that works and has helped with my hormonal imbalance. For a long time, I was caught in the web of bleeding daily. I couldn’t tell my usual period from the imbalance or even my ovulation because everything was all mixed up. As a lady who has always been careful and particular about her health, it was a massive blow to my face. Heart-wrenching and scarier as it got worse daily, it eventually seemed to be the norm.

Over time, I let it go. I gave in to what it was, stopped every medication, and bought packs of tampons and pads. I had already accepted it for what it was, and although I prayed earnestly for the day it would end, at the back of my mind I somehow feared it would never come to an end.

I believe this is the same for everyone who has suffered dearly or struggled with a part of themselves for a long time. A lot of people do not fancy exercise and workouts because they believe it never pays off, and most times, it doesn’t. How do you invest so much time and effort into losing weight, becoming healthier, in my case, getting better, and it just never yields? That alone is enough to encourage you to give up; accept life for what it is and move on, keep living however you find yourself even though it breaks your heart daily.

This was me until I found jump ropes.

I was at a point in my life where I had decided to live past the daily pain of changing tampons, fixing pads, or googling what could be wrong with me. But when I started skipping, I felt different. The first few days were a struggle because, of course, I was a 24-year-old lady trying to lift herself and skip through a speeding rope. I was no child, and we all know how easy it is for children to carry themselves and spin around; I too was like that as a kid. Anyway, it took a couple of days to find a proper stance and pace, then I started counting.

The first few weeks were mere trial and error. My routine was to wake up early, say a prayer, pick up my rope (which, in this case, was a random rope I had gotten from some I used to dry my clothes), and then start skipping. I would jump for a few minutes, somewhat 3 minutes, or less than 50 skips, and panting hard, I would call it a day.

This went on for a while and nothing changed; I was still bleeding, still felt fatigue and stiffness, didn’t feel athletic, and was generally living my usual life. In fact, I stopped for a while because I was exhausted, only to pick it up again a few weeks later.

I started to incorporate stretches in between skips, especially when I needed to catch my breath, pushing myself beyond the norms as I flexed my muscles and warmed my ankles before hopping again.

Photo by kike vega on Unsplash

Today, I got to 1000 skips! Unbelievable, I know. For those who exercise consistently, 1000 skips might be so little, but for me, it was everything. My ankles were on fire, my thighs burned, my chest heaved uncontrollably, and my senses blurred as I tried to catch my breath. Initially, I had aimed at 800 because I had missed two days of skipping, but when I got to 800 skips, I wanted more. I wanted to try beyond my limitations, and it worked. I quickly posted on my WhatsApp status and took a screenshot of it.

I was proud of myself.

Do you know what I learned over time? My bleeding stopped. My body had begun to normalize, and my skin looked better. I lost a few pounds, and my stomach leveled out a little. I had just bought a new pack of sanitary products and was super excited to toss them aside, replacing them with liners. It felt great to be free, and because I longed for more of this freedom, I kept skipping.

Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

Below are a few benefits of skipping I’ve come to realize through research:

  1. Improves Cardiovascular Health: Skipping gets your heart rate up, improving heart health and stamina.
  2. Aids Weight Loss: It burns a significant amount of calories, helping in weight reduction.
  3. Enhances Coordination and Agility: Regular skipping improves coordination and balance.
  4. Boosts Mental Health: The endorphins released during exercise can help reduce anxiety and depression.
  5. Strengthens Bones: It’s a weight-bearing exercise that can improve bone density and strength.

Trust me, you’ll be correct to say it’s easier said than done, but bear in mind that every day you show up matters. Every day, for the past few weeks, my number of skips has drastically reduced. Some days I get to just 800 skips, and some days I don’t. Some days it’s as low as 200, and I haven’t been able to push myself towards 1000 again. Yet, I show up every day. And on days I don’t, I incorporate yoga, do a few stretches on a mat, or take a walk.

Health is wealth, and this is no news!

Losing my mum early this year from poor health has taught me that whatever you neglect regarding your health and well-being can eventually come back to haunt you. This is not just true for health, but also career, sanity and mental well-being, education, spirituality and beliefs, hard work, etc.

Trust me when I say you shouldn’t in any way find yourself failing in any of these, and when you find yourself crushed, remember it is not the end, and just a little push forward can get you to a thousand skips.

Break off from your limitations, I’m rooting for you!

--

--

Jane Augustine

I write what I've felt, feel and will feel. Sometimes, something educating and inspiring. Stay with me and let me show you what the world looks like in my eyes.